Slight change of my plans and timeline.

Slight change of my plans and timeline.

This morning, when my head is clear of migraine, I had a little bit time for meditation, journaling and self-reflection.

And after all that, I made a slight change in my plans.

After I shared "My plan to become a paid blockchain developer ASAP", the most common criticism I got was "I think your timeline is overly optimistic even unrealistic". And I now agree.

What I first thought would take a few weeks, I now realize will more likely take several months. More like, 2-6 months, if I'm being more realistic.

I think the reason I made that error in judgement was, I wanted something to make money fast, simply to pay the bills.

Now that I realized it would take me several months to make a living as a blockchain developer, this begs the question, what will I do in the meantime?

in-the-short-term-g1e4519dfe_1920.jpg

I need some income source, some jobs that I can apply without learning any new skills.

So, what can I do right now? I decided that I will take on technical content writing jobs first. Preferably, in the blockchain-cryptocurrency space. But I'm also open to all kinds of technical writing, like reviewing various online services (hosting, vpn, page builders etc), writing about linux and open source software in general, hardware etc...

Heck, I can even include my hasnode blog posts in my portfolio, since learning to code is a fairly technical topic on its own.

Now, if I spend 2-3 hours a day to first apply for content that will also delay the time I can become job-ready in blockchain development. Maybe not 2-6 months, but more like 3-9 months. Which is closer to what I read from googling "how fast can I become a developer". So probably a more realistic plan compared to my first plan.

And while content writing is not as high-paying or sexy as a senior solidity developer job, I think in the medium term, say, 2-5 years, I think it may be even more profitable.

If I keep one foot firmly on technology and the other foot on communicating value to the market through content, I think I may enjoy the benefit of best of both worlds.

I think the tech guys often make the mistake of falling in love with the technology, without considering what the market demands. On the other side, marketers make the mistake of selling polished turd without actually delivering some unique value.

If I can have some skill, some understanding of both technology as well as what market demands I think I can position myself to become a major player in this sector in the next several years.

So, basically, that's my change of plans.

  • For short term income, get some content writing jobs.

  • Do not rush gaining developer skills. Focus on building solid foundations, a viable portfolio.

  • For the long run, develop skills and experience in both technology and marketing side of things.

  • Position myself as a major player in the industry.

Then moon, lambo lol